Get to Know More New Faces at the Small Forest Landowner Office

The Small Forest Landowner Regulation Assistance Program recently welcomed a new Regulation Assistance Forester to the team. Allow us to introduce John Schmeltz, who is based in and serving small forest landowners in the Olympic peninsula area.

Tell us a little about yourself.

I enjoy being outside in nature. This includes just getting out and doing things like camping, hiking, riding bikes, just relaxing, or fishing and hunting. For me, knowing where my food comes from is important, and so I have a small little hobby farm. We raise all our own meat including beef, pork, and chicken. Also, we grow a large garden and we can a lot of produce so that it can be enjoyed year around.

Describe your job.

In my job I get to help people understand forestry as well as our state’s forest practices rules. As far as forestry goes, we look at what the current forest condition and management situation is and discuss options to employ to get to desired conditions. For example, if small forest landowners choose to conduct a timber harvest, I can help guide them through the forest practices application permitting process.

Why do you think our work is important?

I feel that my work is important because I get to help people who may not understand everything involved in conducting forest practices. The forest is a very dynamic environment and knowing how to meet your future desired conditions can be challenging and so it is important to be able to provide informed management guidance on possible things landowners can do.

What kind of legacy do you want to leave behind?

I would like to help people understand nature and hopefully get a passion for it.  I would like them to realize that nature has a big impact on people and that it needs to be managed in different ways so that it can be multifunctional.

What is your favorite kind of tree and why?

My favorite tree would be the redwood. This is because they are such a large and majestic tree.  Also, the fact that they can create little micro-environments of plants in their canopy is really interesting.